Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Arduino Mega2560 & GRBL .....

Fish4Fun

So long, and Thanks for all the Fish!
Aug 27, 2013
I am an absolute NooB with respect to the Arduino IDE and C programming, but I have been building projects using the AVR family of uControllers since the 90's.....of course, everything I have done has been in Assembler.....What I actually "need" I could have done in an afternoon writing ASM, but what I really **want** is to try and use GRBL and the Arduino IDE...so I am a week into trying to load a completely un-modified "sketch" to a mega2560 board....

What I am working with:

Brand New SainSmart Mega2560 R3 with the ATMEGA16U USB chip (as opposed to the more readily available CH340G USB Chips...there were a few posts about compatibility issues of GRBL with the CH340G USB chips, so I ordered some of the SainSmart boards in an effort to minimize potential problems...)

Arduino IDE Version 1.6.9 (fresh install)

Latest "verified" Version of GRBL9f2560 from GitHub

I have the GRBL library installed in the folder with the rest of the Arduino libraries, and it shows up in the Arduino IDE "Library List" (I don't have any other GRBL libraries installed anywhere else).

I started a "New Sketch" in the Arduino IDE, Selected the Atmega2560 and included the GRBL library (as per the GRBL wiki instructions...) I then compiled the sketch (it compiles w/o warnings) , but I have not been able to upload it to the Mega2560 board via the Arduino IDE....either via the boot loader or with a programmer.....However, I have been able to use the "Export Compiled Binary" feature in the Arduino IDE to create a hex file that flashes without a problem using extreme burner and an AVRASP....so there is that....