Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Amplifier Potentiometer Replacement

Blake94

Apr 22, 2017
Hello.

This is my first post here. I have a sunn stagemaster guitar amplifier, built some time in the early 80s. The amplifier has two output channels, A and B, each with a knob adjusting the output wattage from 1 watt to 120. Unfortunately, the shaft for the A channel potentiometer was broken clean off some time before I acquired the amp. I would like to replace it, but I have no idea which part to get to replace it. I would like to have the part before I take apart my amp and am ampless haha. All I know about the pot (if it is a pot and not a rotary switch) is that it has 12 different positions. I have been able to acquire a schematic for the amplifier, which I have attached. I have no idea how to read electronics schematics though, so I have no clue where the pertinent information lies in the document. I've tried calling around my city, and the only place that might be able to do it would charge me more than I paid for the amp in the first place. Any help here would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Attachments

• Stage Master (2).PDF
    136.7 KB · Views: 84

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
The volume adjustment should be these potentimeters (from page 3):
upload_2017-4-22_20-28-25.png
Unfortunately the value is veeeery haaard to read. Could be 100kΩ - or not. When you open the amplifier, you usually find the value and the characteristic (linear or lagarithmic) written on the potentiometer housing.

The 12 different positions are possibly achieved by a mechanical snap mechanism of the knob. I've not seen potentiometers with latching positions before.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Welcome to EP!
The only gain controls shown in the schematic are normal (audio taper?) pots, not multi-way switched ones. The 12 positions are presumably defined by detents. Can you determine if those are internal or external?
Pots with internal detents are available.

Blake94

Apr 22, 2017