AC or DC Fuse

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by negash, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. negash

    negash

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like buy a fuse 15A but I don't know type of fuse depend on using ac or dc.
    There is defferenc type of fuse in between ac & dc voltage .Simply I side there is defferent between ac fuse & dc fuse
     
    negash, Mar 18, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. negash

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23,022
    Likes Received:
    2,036
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    Generally speaking -- for low currents, and moderate voltages -- no.

    If you are replacing a blown fuse, then getting one that has the same physical package and rating will be OK.

    If you were designing a circuit, then you would have to look at the ratings to determine if the type was suitable, but for already manufactured equipment that will not be an issue.

    I just *know* that "somebody" will jump on me for saying what I just said.

    That information is totally wrong if you're talking about 3000A fuses. Here is a discussion of areas where AC and DC fuses are different. Here is a manufacturer of such fuses, with some products that are specially designed for DC.

    And here is a discussion about AC/DC on fuse.tv :)
     
    (*steve*), Mar 19, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. negash

    neon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    there is a difference in AC and DC fuses besides amps and volts An AC fuses is rated to the average value of .639 of the voltage since it flatuate back and forth. Never the less fuses are there not to protect the circuit in general but to stop fires. A 1 amp fuse can blow at 2 amps they are protection not guaratees. a 500 amp fuse the size of 2 inch may have a silver strip of yes 1/8 inch the rest is sand to colapse and control the ionization flush. even fast fuses are not guaranty of precise 1 amp blow protection.
     
    neon, Mar 25, 2010
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. acannell@wwc.com

    size and speed of fuse for AC/DC SMPS?

    acannell@wwc.com, Jun 25, 2007, in forum: Electronic Design
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    888
  2. phil-news-nospam@ipal.net

    AC-DC and DC-AC converter design

    phil-news-nospam@ipal.net, Feb 1, 2004, in forum: Misc Electronics
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    578
    phil-news-nospam@ipal.net
    Feb 1, 2004
  3. BrianAlex
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,180
    hr(bob) hofmann@att.net
    Jan 6, 2009
  4. GreenTea

    Simple 50mA fuse, but not using a Fuse.

    GreenTea, Sep 1, 2010, in forum: Circuit Help
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,994
    (*steve*)
    Sep 19, 2010
  5. GeetarGal

    Can I replace a glass fuse with a ceramic fuse?

    GeetarGal, Mar 5, 2014, in forum: Electronics Repair
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    14,771
    Arouse1973
    Jun 28, 2015
  6. zanzan

    CNC machine, Shapeoko 2 or 3, or XCarve Kit

    zanzan, Jun 16, 2016, in forum: Microcontrollers and Programming
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    537
    Minder
    Jul 12, 2016
  7. BlueCerealBox
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    308
    Minder
    Sep 13, 2016
  8. RCH
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    594
    AnalogKid
    May 13, 2017
Loading...