Maker Pro
Maker Pro

A worthy venture?

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
So I have my BSEE (Bachelor's of Science in Electronics Engineering) but right now I am working as an Electrical engineer, I know that this may be the case in future jobs as well.

Would it be worth the effort to go through the steps to become a certified electrician? (talking in the US here) I just figure itll give me experience on both ends of things.

I know its a lot of time and a lot of studying but would it be worth it?

Thoughts?
Opinions?

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
You'd have to put time-in on an appreticeship program, do the union rules thing.
I considered it long ago, but they want you to 'pay your dues' in time on the job
to meet their requirements. It's not just a test you take where I am, you have to
put time in as an apprentice. Unless you've got some kind of 'certification' you
can buy up there, to run a company or something that I'm unaware of.
EE's authorize work, but the unions have made it so that you have to jump through
their hoops, to actually BE a certified electrician.

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
I know that its not just a test thing, which sucks, but for the most part if you can get into the schooling for it you can get sponsored, and I know a few journeyman electricians (and a master electrician) so I dont think I would have any trouble getting the working hours.

Im just thinking about it because:
A. I know that I can do it
B. Im trying to buy a house and being able to wire things myself will be a huge money saver
C. I think it would be a huge plus on my resume down the road

Just a thought, I know that the electrical engineering program at the college I went to counted towards apprentice hours, Im not sure if any of my program did though. With my current job there are a lot of things that would make life easier if I knew it rather than having to look tons of things up all the time. Not just the time looking things up more like trying to find what to look up

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010