Maker Pro
Maker Pro

1kw+ SMPS...blowing FETS at full voltage

kvasefi

Jul 10, 2009
Hi there...
I've been working on a project for an SMPS in the KW range for some months now and I keep running into different problems. Much research in books and online solved some of them, but I'm stuck now and I thought the expertise here might give some insight. I studied EE in college but most of it was in digital design, so power circuits is more self-taught. I've done some linear power supply design and also a lighter SMPS with simple topology, but this high power and different design has been a beast. I'm also working on a PFC stage which I will include (although I haven't gotten that to work yet...any input would be greatly appreciated if you get a chance).

Any insight on my design is good. If you have a design example for this power range or a link to one, I'd be happy to try that, although I haven't found any through much searching.

My application:
Charging very large capacitors (.8 F x 3 in parallel) in a short time (<1s) up to 24 or 48V. To do that, I'd like to source up to 30-40A current.

Here are my specs:
Input voltage: 110Vac through a voltage doubler and rectifier (not shown), so 340 Vdc onto DC+ and DC- (as labeled on schematic)
Output voltage: 24Vdc
Max current: 40A

My problem:
I manage input Vac using a variac, and then either load it with an uncharged cap (~2000 uF) or a resistor 10R. Either way, when I increase input voltage to near the max (ie. normal US 110Vac), I start to blow the FETS. They are heatsinked and don't heat up too much, just suddenly I blow the fuse and testing shows that 1-4 of the FETs are now shorted on all 3 pins.
I have a cheap o-scope can it's ground line is grounded to earth, so I can't watch what's happening between the gate transformers and my output (the voltage doubler sends DC- below 0 and sparks flew when I tried before I read the o-scope manual).