Maker Pro
Maker Pro

12vdc relay

mploeg

Jan 8, 2018
Hello all,

I'm trying to finish up a project left for our technology department. We have a project that requires 4 relays that are rated for 12vdc at 158 mA and my power supply is 12vdc at 2A. The wire used is copper 24 AWG and is 4 strands, but we only use 2 out of the 4.

The length of the wire (from power supply to relay) goes about 450-650 feet. I measured the voltage at each relay and the closet one gets about 12vdc while the furthest gets 10.6vdc.

Can anyone help? I'm not an electrician and this project was put in my lap. Should I look for a relay that requires less power (I tried calling and finding some) or should I just try and find a power supply that is a little larger? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Kiwi

Jan 28, 2013
Parallel the two unused wires with the two being used. This will reduce the voltage drop in the wires to the relay.

Use a higher voltage power supply. 12v is the nominal voltage for the relays, but the specifications will probably give a maximum voltage of about 14v.

mploeg

Jan 8, 2018
Oh thank you very much, it might be a little before I can touch the project, but I will try this and tell you the results. I appreciate the input!

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Do you have any supply at the destination end (what's the relay powering?)

If there is one then use a transistor at the relay end to boost the current (signal in at the base via a resistor, relay in the collector circuit, ground the emitter).

mploeg

Jan 8, 2018
Hello Kellys_eye,

No power at the destination. The power source hits a central point and then branches to 3 relays (
Omron G7L-2A-BUBJ-CB DC12). Once the relay goes off it gives a signal to an arduino board to actuate. Would the method you suggested work in this situation?

Thanks,

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015