12V Light project

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects' started by Joergenvs, Dec 6, 2017 at 8:39 AM.

  1. Joergenvs

    Joergenvs

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I am posting here as my expertise in the electronic field is very limited.

    I want to create a light up system using this product:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B06XRBY3K6/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    It has a 12v/24v DC Input, this is used for a car battary, however i want to run it off a 5V USB cable ideally.

    My idea was to use a 5v to 12v USB Step us system, with a DC Connecter plug at the other end:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Upgrade-Co...sr=1-6-catcorr&keywords=USB+Step+up+Converter

    Would the system work with the following, would the system work as follows connecting the original light up switch board to the following:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/DealMux-La...qid=1512548180&sr=8-8&keywords=DC+jack+wiring

    so i can plug the DC power in etc...?

    Kind Regards,

    J
     
    Joergenvs, Dec 6, 2017 at 8:39 AM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Joergenvs

    kellys_eye

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    West Coast, Scotland
    If the board you want to power consumes less than the USB converter can deliver then yes you can use the USB power lead.

    The details for the lead are not exactly explicit though - it states 'maximum 2A' but not whether that is the input or the output, nor does the panel you want to power show any details of the consumption it requires.

    But if the criteria are met then there's no reason why you can't power that board in that way.
     
    kellys_eye, Dec 6, 2017 at 8:56 AM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Joergenvs

    Bluejets

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    407
    Just seems pointless to power it from 5v to 12v and then back again to 5v to drive a couple of usb charge ports.
    Granted the switch Leds are set up for 12v. So do you intend to drive relays for the outputs(lights)?
    Be a bit wary of the wiring detail as it seems to be a-up.
     
    Bluejets, Dec 6, 2017 at 9:00 AM
    #3
  4. Joergenvs

    Joergenvs

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, its purely for show to be honest.
     
    Joergenvs, Dec 6, 2017 at 9:43 AM
    #4
  5. Joergenvs

    Bluejets

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    407
    In that case, just connect a 12v plugpack.
     
    Bluejets, Dec 6, 2017 at 10:57 AM
    #5
  6. Joergenvs

    Joergenvs

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joergenvs, Dec 6, 2017 at 11:24 AM
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.