110VAC to 130VDC motor

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by MidwestExpress, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. MidwestExpress

    MidwestExpress

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Everyone,

    I have a project where I am building a 2x72" belt grinder. I have a perfectly good 130VDC, 4.25HP, 3170w motor to use. It came from a treadmill. My problem... how to power and then how to control.

    What I want is to power it as well as control the speed of it. I could buy an $800 electronic power converter with variable speed capabilities, but one... that is more than I am willing to spend, and two... what is the fun of just buying something when you can build something! :-D

    I have been out of major electronic projects such as this for a long while and I am looking for some ideas of how I can run this motor safely and for 45 min to an 1 hour at a time.

    All ideas are greatly appreciated!

    upload_2018-1-16_18-59-55.png
     
    MidwestExpress, Jan 17, 2018
    #1
  2. MidwestExpress

    Minder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    563
    Location:
    Canadian Midwest
    That is a fairly hefty motor, if running off of 120vac you will need a 30amp outlet.
    One cheap way may be a Triac controller similar to used on Universal motor power tools, but with a 30a min. bridge on the output,
    Remove the flywheel if fitted.
    Ensure the rpm pot is at zero when first powering up.
    M.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
    Minder, Jan 17, 2018
    #2
    MidwestExpress likes this.
  3. MidwestExpress

    MidwestExpress

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this what you are referring to?

    https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/stmicroelectronics/T3050H-6I/497-10584-5-ND/2294982

    What would the schematic look like?
     
    MidwestExpress, Jan 17, 2018
    #3
  4. MidwestExpress

    duke37

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,085
    Likes Received:
    682
    Location:
    Derbyshire. UK
    The motor is labelled P.M.D.C so is likely to be a permanent magnet DC motor.The only way of controlling the speed is by controlling the voltage.

    The speed is not given and could be very fast ot very slow. I doubt if the speed of a belt grinder is critical. Try the motor on 12V and see what speed you get, then work out a voltage to get the speed you want.

    A transformer with a bridge rectifier is about the minimum circuit possible. A slow start with a resistor and relay shorting it out will do this or a thermistor of suitable rating.
     
    duke37, Jan 17, 2018
    #4
  5. MidwestExpress

    Minder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    563
    Location:
    Canadian Midwest
    There are many if you Google, look for Triac controller with bridge.
    With this type of control I would ensure no flywheel and always start with pot at zero.
    In the DWG size the power components accordingly.
    M.
    upload_2018-1-17_9-44-20.gif
     
    Minder, Jan 17, 2018
    #5
    Harald Kapp likes this.
  6. MidwestExpress

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    8,595
    Likes Received:
    1,663
    Location:
    Germany-Europe-Earth-Sol System-Milky Way-Laniakea
    May I add that you should add an EMI suppression filter on the mains side? A triac controlled circuit in that power range is sure to create a lot of EMI otherwise.
     
    Harald Kapp, Jan 17, 2018
    #6
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.
Loading...