Maker Pro
Maker Pro

10v -14v input to 12v regulator circuit high current

bonsia

Sep 3, 2018
please help I am new to electronics I have a voltage input from batteries that can be 10v to 14v I would like to have a clean regulated 12v output can anyone help with a circuit diagram that would do this job the current flow is quite high. kind regards in advance Bonsia

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
For a regulator the input has to be higher than the output by at least 2 volts normally to allow for voltage drop on the regulator itself.
Quite high means nothing, you need to provide actual figures.

bonsia

Sep 3, 2018
Hello!
Thank you for helping me I have 2 325w solar panels that go through a Vistron MPPT 100/30 solar controller that connects to 2 140ah 12v batteries but the controller does not have a regulated output like some smaller cheap solar controllers so i am forced to connect my load to the batteries and the voltage changes from the amount of sun, night it can drop to as low as 10.5v and middle of day when it's sunny it can reach 14v.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Where are you taking your voltage readings?
How long are you discharging at 10A?
How much capacity is being fed into the battery before discharge?
How are the 2 * 12v batteries connected?
Sounds like you are not getting enough into the battery during the day for night consumption.

Externet

Aug 24, 2009
To charge your batteries, 14V is what you need, not 12V. You did not expect a higher voltage at night, right ?

bonsia

Sep 3, 2018
thank you, the power is required 24/7 everything works great and has done for 6 month the only issue is the output of the batteries changes when they are being charged and when they are not being charged but everything still works ok.

the 2 batteries are in parallel so we still get 12v but double capacity as we don't want our device attached to turn off.

our concern is that we would like a regulated 12v out can you help?

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014