Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Young Artist with question about LED's for installation

SX0T

Jun 9, 2010
Hi, I am a young artist (25) and I am in the conceptual stages of a piece I want to make, but have a few questions that require the aid of some knowledgeable electricians. Hopefully I can present my project and get some answers without too much confusion.

What I am looking to do is find a way to suspend a tube light (fluorescent, LED, whatever I can use or works best) in space using string. The problem, is that I want it to be lit, but not have to be attached to any sort of huge fixture like the ones on my ceiling that typically get long tubes put into.

Is there a way to power a tube lightbulb, (florescent, LED, or otherwise) without it being attached to a fixture, and without some crazy wiring that would need to be done.

For reference, I have a picture of the general idea that I am trying to convey:
full-diffusedBulbLit.jpg

4684799531_89bcc5ca3b_b.jpg

So, I need to know - is there a way to power an LED Tube light (or even a Fluorescent, I just assume it would be easier with LED) without a huge ballast using some kind of battery, or even a regular plug for a socket on a wall?

If so, how?

I should also note, in case this matters, that I would be covering the tube with a colored light gel to color the tube a very specific color.

The closest I have found is something like this http://www.batteryoperatedcandles.ne...colyte_d_23500,
which is battery powered (3 AA) but frankly, it looks kinda dumb and the tube isn't as large or bright as I would like .