Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Yo, World!

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
I just now discovered this forum, which looks like it might be pretty interesting. I am a semi-retired electrical engineer who started off "messin' 'round" with electricity and electronics at about the age of six. Dad brought home a Lionel electric train set for Christmas that year. I didn't learn until much later (when I became a dad) that fathers really buy electric trains for themselves. The child is just there to avoid the embarassment.of a grown man playing with kids toys.

Anyway, I plan to lurk here every once in awhile and help out if I can.

Hop

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
greetings and welcome to the forums :)

gee, I havent been to Dayton, OH since 2006, seems like a lifetime ago

cheers
Dave

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
I didn't learn until much later (when I became a dad) that fathers really buy electric trains for themselves. The child is just there to avoid the embarassment.of a grown man playing with kids toys.

No embarrassment here, from my fond memories of trains as a child with my uncle I have been purchasing N gauge trains since the birth of my daughter so that I can share the experiences... Once she gets to an age to appreciate and handle them I hope to have a fun long time father daughter build going on...

BTW: I chose N gauge as it was what I was most exposed to as a child so it holds a special place, and also for the simple reason that I won't need to dedicate an entire building to a full fledged layout, instead I can do a whole lot in a single room ;)

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
<snip>

BTW: I chose N gauge as it was what I was most exposed to as a child so it holds a special place, and also for the simple reason that I won't need to dedicate an entire building to a full fledged layout, instead I can do a whole lot in a single room ;)