Connect with us

Working with micro connectors

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by medusa569, Sep 4, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. medusa569

medusa569

Apr 7, 2010
    As a newbie I have had little encounters with mini and micro components and my tools are few. In trying to trouble shoot my pc monitor I have come across a connector so fine my hemostat clips are too big to deal with . I assume it slides out like all the other modular connectors but I can manage without risking breaking the wire or the connector itself. How do I disengage this type of connector?? I'd also like some opinions as to the necessary tool box for the working with the smaller components. thanks in advance. :confused:

Attached Files:

2. shrtrnd

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
    Looks to me like the white (large) connector is soldered to the board.
    Make sure there on no clips that need to be disengaged on that connector, to remove
    the cable connector.
    Then stick a small screwdriver under the ends of the cable connector, and gently pry
    the cable connector (a little pressure on one side, then the other, back and forth),
    until the cable connector is out of the board connector.
    Gently.

3. medusa569

medusa569

Apr 7, 2010
    OK now I am FUBARED. The connector broke. Its outa there but non the less broken. On of the terminals has no seating. So now I have to find a new connector. In electronics how does one go about find out what type of connector it is and its size?? I only know its a wire to board right angle connector. At least now I can test the board....god I hate these really small delicate things....its not so bad when its the larger components.

4. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    Start by counting the pins and determining the pin pitch. Measure the distance from one end pin to the other and divide that by one less than the number of pins to get the pin pitch.