Connect with us

Working with high voltage pulses

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Oldnewbie, Dec 29, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Oldnewbie

Oldnewbie

Dec 28, 2015
    Hello all. I am new to electronics and have made it about half way through the Make: Electronics course in the last month or so.

I have a project in mind and would like to enlist some help in getting me pointed in the right direction. I have an electric fence which is used to keep my cattle fenced in. Occasionally, the voltage in the fence drops for various reasons; i.e.: break in the line, wet grass, bad ground etc. I have a fence tester to check for voltage drop but would like to put something permanent on the end of the line to automatically indicate that the fence requires maintenance. Basically, I want to know how much voltage is going through the fence and in the event of a problem I would like some indication as to the severity of the problem.

LEDs could be used to indicate the amount of voltage of each pulse, similar to the tester that I have. Or it could be a digital display. The electrifying unit I have puts out pulses up to 7kv. If LEDs were used the voltage could be indicated in increments of 1kv. So if the pulses were at 3.5kv only 3 LEDs would light up. (The 1kv indicator LED, the 2kv indicator LED and the 3kv indicator). In addition, I would like to have a visual warning to indicate a voltage drop. For example; have the unit flash some yellow LEDs to indicate that the voltage has dropped a certain amount and some red LEDs to indicate that there is no more voltage in the line.

The main problem I am having is how to get the high voltage pulse down to something I can work with.

Hope this all makes sense. Any help is appreciated.

2. Gryd3

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
    I can tell you what I would personally try... but my experience in higher voltages are limited...