Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Working of a JK Flip-Flop. Help needed with the circuit.

strix-newarensis

May 20, 2017
Greetings Everyone,
This is my very first thread on this forum and as you may have guessed I am a beginner in electronics. I was just studying about flip flops and wanted to see a practical demonstration of the jk flip flop. can anyone provide me with a schematic so that i can see it in action on the breadboard. (I have a 74ls76n JK flip flop with preset and clear).
Many thanks.

Strix

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Try talkingelectronics web site. Many beginner circuits and animations there for various things.

strix-newarensis

May 20, 2017
I did check out the website and it was quite interesting but i could not find the required schematic.
I just want a simple jk flip flop circuit.

Strix

strix-newarensis

May 20, 2017
Try talkingelectronics web site. Many beginner circuits and animations there for various things.

I did check out the website and it was quite interesting but i could not find the required schematic.
I just want a simple jk flip flop circuit.

Strix

P.S Darn! Sorry I am kinda new to forums.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
I just googled for "jk flip flop schematic" and it gave me one (actually two).

strix-newarensis

May 20, 2017
I don't really want to know how to build a JK flip flop i want to make it change it's output states on my breadboard. I wish to see it in action with just a tactile switch. Thanks for your attention, I really am grateful.:)

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Oh ok, I see what you mean.

What flip flop do you have? Give us the full part number. There are important differences between logic families which will trip you up if you're not aware. Also the type of flip flop will decide what we can simply do with it.

strix-newarensis

May 20, 2017
He is playing with an old fashioned TTL 74LS76.
Wow, AudioGuru! How did you know ?!
I AM using a 74ls76n jk flip flop.