Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Wireless key fob and USB receiver. Advice sought

Ray Pooley

Jun 3, 2017
Hello forum users. Newbie here.

I will give you the scenario. I have a building with 5 staff and 3 doors. I want to be able to monitor when they pass through the doors. It's so there can be no dispute as to how long they have been on the premises, as you might expect. I know there are commercial solutions out there but they are pricey and I don't have the money to spare. What I do have is a background in mechanical and electrical engineering and software development. So I am looking to develop my own system from basic components. If I can buy a programmable fob that can be assigned a unique id, a transmitter/sensor (for the doorways) and a USB receiver for a PC .it would be a good place to start building a prototype. Does anyone have any idea where I can find this sort of stock or, indeed, whether these things exist at all? Thanks in advance.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
I think there is a lot more to the requirements here than you seem to be aware.
Just as an example. What happens if they all ( or one or whatever) enter or leave by one door at one time.

ChosunOne

Jun 20, 2010
Good luck with that, Ray.

(1) Are you thinking of installing electronic locks on the doors, to be opened with the key fobs? (Access Control)

Or sensors on the doors to trip local annunciation/alarm if the door isn't first shunted/bypassed by the fobs? (Alarm System)

Full disclosure, my field of expertise is by far more security alarm systems than access control, although I've worked with both; and they have enough common ground that I can see potential problems with designing your system, whichever way you go. In both cases (alarm or AC), it is by FAR easier to prevent entry by intruders than to prevent insiders from sneaking out.