Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Window comparator help (Battery monitor)

Asarushazu

May 4, 2017
I'm new to using comparators, and I think I have an understanding as to how they work, but when I go from paper to real-world, I do not get the desired results. My goal is to use a 5v power bank booster board and a 1k and 2k7 resistor to drop the voltage to roughly 3.65v, such that when the battery (26650 Lithium) is above 3.65v a LED is on, and when the battery drops below 3.65v, the LED blinks using a reverse 2n2222a/capacitor blinker circuit. I have used a LM393P Comparator and a Texas Instruments 272 Opamp. I have had partial success with the 272, and no success with the LM393. I have included my circuit below. What about my circuit is wrong, what would be a better circuit, and/or what comparator or opamp would you all suggest using?
Note: The outputs as designated by my particular symbols are wired together, possible connections are denoted by broken lines.This statement is to clear up any misunderstandings.20170504_002434.jpg

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome to electronicspoint.

1. The transistor at the lower right has no base connection - it will be permanently off. Frankly, I have no idea what the lower comparator circuit with transistor, resistor and capacitor is supposed to do. As I understand it, the capacitor will be charged or discharged depending on the comparator output. Nothing else.
  2. Why use a window comparator when you only want to detect undervoltage?
  3. Assuming the LED is the one next to the 100 Ω resistor (although the symbol is not hat of an LED), why do you think it should blink? When the output of the upper comparator is high, the LED will be on. When the output is low, the LED will be off. You could simply use a blinking LED instead.
  4. While the LM393 is suitable for 5 V operation, the input voltage is limited to Vcc-1.5 V = 3.5 V for nominal operation. A 3.65 V battery exceeds this limit.