Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Will this switch work with what I'm trying to do?

TomH

Aug 17, 2015
I have 4 outputs from different audio sources via aux cable. I'm trying to combine them all into a box and have an easy way to change the audio source. If only one source is going to be used at a time how should I wire everything together?

Should I use a dp4t slide switch like this?

http://www.amazon.com/Position-DP4T...=1439770887&sr=8-1&keywords=dp4t+slide+switch

and would I wire it by connecting the ground on all the aux together and then use one pole for right channel and the other pole for left channel? or do I need a pole for ground as well?

Sorry, i'm fairly new to electronics.

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
I have 4 outputs from different audio sources via aux cable. I'm trying to combine them all into a box and have an easy way to change the audio source. If only one source is going to be used at a time how should I wire everything together?

Should I use a dp4t slide switch like this?

http://www.amazon.com/Position-DP4T...=1439770887&sr=8-1&keywords=dp4t+slide+switch
Chris said:
Not sure. I'd feel more confident if they'd included a schematic of the switch or the mfgr datasheet.
and would I wire it by connecting the ground on all the aux together and then use one pole for right channel and the other pole for left channel?
Chris said:
Yes, like that.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
The dp4t switch wired as you describe in post #1, using a common (unswitched) ground should be fine.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
I'll mention this in the hopes of helping you avoid problems later.
There are a lot of audio/visual switch boxes available on the market, and they're relatively inexpensive. They're designed for this.
What you need to be aware of, is that signals from several different sources can cause interference when they 'bleed' over into other nearby cables.