Maker Pro
Maker Pro

WiFi enabled Garage Door Opener

oxicottin

Sep 14, 2012
Hello, I'm new to this and want to give it a go. I want to build a 5ghz garage door opener that I can know if it's open or closed from my phone and control it using phone or Google Assistant using IFTTT. I know you can buy the MyQ but that's no fun ..

Thanks!

Frankchie

Nov 14, 2017
One way to do this is using an esp8266, or a Nodemcu module which contains an esp8266 with some nice extras. Both have wifi capabilities and can be programed using the Arduino Development software. You can find lot's of example projects on the web and probably some can be modified for your garage door project. I have used these modules to control sprinkler systems and other remote devices and access them from any browser as they are capable of serving HTML pages.

The Nodemcu has a microusb connector by which you program it, no extra hardware programming platform is required. And there are several excellent forums around if you need help.

And they are inexpensive and widely available.

Frank

Frankchie

Nov 14, 2017
That looks like a Nodemcu board, but I don't think it is. It might employ an esp8266 but I don't think it's actually a Nodemcu....Although it might be a very similar concept. I'm not sure what programming language it uses but it looks like C++ and something called a Particle IDE. (not sure what that is). Anyway, it might not be a bad solution for you if there are support resources available (forums, etc).

Yes, the esp8266/Nodemcu does use 2.4.ghz, wifi not the 5 ghz you wanted. Most routers that support 5ghz also support 2.4ghz so it shouldn't be much of a problem to configure your router accordingly. BTW, 5 ghz can support higher wifi transfer speeds, but the 2.4ghz band has a greater distance range. 2.4ghz is all I have because of the range advantage. Also many devices still don't support 5 ghz so having 2.4 ghz available may prove useful to you in the future.