Connect with us

Which motor is the right motor?

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by MuntyScruntfundle, Nov 6, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. MuntyScruntfundle

MuntyScruntfundle

Nov 6, 2017
    I'm staring to realise this is a rather difficult question to answer.

I'm an engineer, machinist, I work with wood and metal, I've worked running a software design business for years, and I'm not retired. I've never done anything with electronics. So I thought I was time.

I wan't to build a small router/cnc machine. I don't want to buy one, I don't want to buy a kit, I want to research, buy all the bits I need separately and learn along the way. I'm sure I'll order loads of stuff incorrectly and have a big box of left overs, but I'll find a way to use them later.

So, which motor! The motors are really the heart of the project, if they're not going to be up to the job it's not worth starting! I need them to be powerful, it basically going to be a milling machine so it needs torque, but I'd sooner not go up to 24v. I'm working on a small Raspberry project at the moment and beginning to understand the understand the different wiring options, but everything will go through a controller which I'll purchase, I'm not making those.

What would people suggest?

2. Minder

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
    What type of milling do you want to do? Do you need high RPM?
    For positioning, you could go to steppers for economy.
    Gecko make a good product.
    What is high about 24v? That is considered the very low end for a spindle voltage.
    For cheap software there is the PC based Mach3/4
    M.

3. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    Invariably you're looking at stepper motors which themselves come in NEMA standard i.e. 17, 23, 34 etc where the number indicates the size (in inches) across the body.