Connect with us

Where to start

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Fingers, Jul 9, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Fingers

Fingers

Jul 9, 2012
    Hi all,

I am a quallified electrician who has been working all over the UK on domestic,industrial,commercial and most recently Solar PV projects. I have a pretty good understanding on the principles of electricity (mainly AC), but i am desperate to get involved in electronics, to be honest im sick of building sites. Also i find the world of transistors, capacitors and wot not fascinating. I have been installing items everyday for years full of intricate little circuit boards and control gear, and its sad to admit in most cases i have no idea whats going on in there.
    I am currently travelling through asia, in two weeks i will be arriving in NZ where i will be living and working for a year. I hope to use this time wisely and teach myself as much as possible about electronics. I was wondering really where to start, i,e best book? any kits that i could purchase?

Thank you

Joe

2. mechtronics

mechtronics

Aug 7, 2011
    Hi how r u getting on what i would say is write a list of the most basic components and use google as your research tool, or you could buy a book but internet is the cheapest way out!! it was my best friend in college!!! :) ! if you have a multimeter it would help too, the best tool i have ever bought. you can learn a lot from them. buy a bread board and components and play around with them there are plenty circuits on google you can look at. and just take it from there, even have a look at old circuits out of things that dont work and familiarise yourself with the components, ul get into it after a while thats my opinion on the whole matter anyway, hope this helps.

3. CraziestOzzy

CraziestOzzy

Jul 4, 2012
    Agree with mechtronics....breadboard, some components and start frying chips chasing a wild idea in your head...It's how I started.

4. john monks