Connect with us

Where to start?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by AJRussell, Mar 6, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. AJRussell

AJRussell

Mar 6, 2011
    Hi,

I really don't like when a new forum user comes along and with his first post asks for help, without having contributed anything. But I'm really struggling here.

I'm not a total electronics newbie. My degree reads "...with Electronics" and we went through the basics - Ohm's law, transistors, up to building PCB circuits from schematics. Part of my problem is my degree was 10 years ago, but I never kept up with it, and I have trouble remembering most of it. Not only that, but electronics must have moved on significantly in the last 10 years.

Last year I did a diploma in audio engineering, and the course involved some very basic electronics. For me, it was a refresher, but it definitely wasn't in-depth, not much higher than the standard of high school Physics' electronics content. It still piqued my interest, as I remembered being good at all that stuff a long time ago.

These days I'm also a musician, and a bit of a geek when it comes to synths. I can program my own designs in Reaktor and SuperCollider, which is what I want to take further by experimenting with sound at the electronic component level. I've pretty much exhausted Maplin's supply of audio-related project kits, which if nothing else, has got my soldering skills back up to scratch, but they're little more than toys. They're almost all based around ICs, and I'm still virtually clueless as to what's actually going on in the circuit, as they teach you nothing about the theory behind it.