Maker Pro
Maker Pro

where do you get your "stuff?"

crisagh

Oct 16, 2015
Ok, so as I've mentioned elsewhere I'm a relative newb to electronics (I'm a woodworker mainly) so I'm trying to source parts and.... nada, nothing, zilch. other than the local radio shack I got naught.
Which is.... weird. I used to live in Toronto and there were all sorts of electronics parts stores, but around here ( just west of Raleigh) can't find squat.
So I'm asking out loud, in your opinon what's the best places online for sourcing parts? (all parts - everything from resistors to chips to cases) Why? (what makes 'your place' special? Good selection? customer service? what?)
Thanks.

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
My first go to is Digikey, they ship for $8.00 p/p and brokerage included to Canada (over $200.00 free p/p).
Excellent customer service and the order is on my door step next day air.
M.

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Ebay is my 'go to' place now. I used Maplin and RS if things were really desperate.
If you can wait approx 15 days for the first order, Ebay is the cheapest by far.
My local Maplin charge between £0.79 and £2.99 for single types of led. Ebay charges £0.99 for 100 pieces free P&P.
I can buy 20 ic's cheaper than the price of one.

Martin

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
I use Mouser. They ship the same day and I get my :"stuff" in typically in 2-3 days via U.S.P.S.

And Ebay for bulk orders common things like LEDs and transistors, resistors.

Bob

Memory_Leak

Oct 27, 2015
I've never understood why people would buy new electronic parts unless they're rich or need something very specific. Just go dumpster diving or go to a thrift store and you can get all the parts you could ever need for less than $5. There's a recycling place in my town that has a rule that any broken piece of electronic equipment costs $1.

crisagh

Oct 16, 2015