Maker Pro
Maker Pro

What to do with 0.5 V and 25 mA?

thmsclrk

Jul 12, 2013
Dear all,
I'm actually a biologist/chemist by trade and have built a DC fuel cell for demonstrations that can generate about 0.5 V and 25 mA. At the moment we wire this to a multimeter to show a current, but I'd like to use something else. I know there are 2 mA LEDs out there but I need a way to boost the voltage without resorting to building new cells or quickly rewiring capacitors from parallel to series. I hear there are joule thieves that might do this but the parts seem very difficult to find.
Any suggestions about what I might do with this (other than bin it) would be fantastic!

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
I built a Joule Thief from parts in my cabinet, so, not hard to find at all. The only questionable one is the ferrite torroid, which I reclaimed from a random inductor I had taken out of something.

Bob

thmsclrk

Jul 12, 2013
Thanks for the quick response bob! I try a joule thief with a toroid, but it didn't produce any current, probably because I didn't have the right transistor that could operate with this current. Any suggestions which might be the best components to build for this current/voltage?
Thanks,
Tom

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Pretty much any general purpose NPN will do. I used a 2n3904. Did you try reversing one of the transformer windings connections? They have to phased correctly in order for it to work. Also, did you try using a 1.5V battery? It might not work at 0.5V. 25ma should be plenty to operate it.

Bob

thmsclrk

Jul 12, 2013
Thanks Bob, you've hit my problem - I want to try and get all the power from the fuel cell, which means that I need to get the voltage up to over 1.5 V from the rather poor 0.5 V supplied from a single cell. It cost about £400 to build the current prototype so I don't really want make more..
Tom

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010