Connect with us

What happens when an AC powered floor-fan dies?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by StupidFella, Jun 10, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. StupidFella

StupidFella

Jun 10, 2014
    Hi everybody, this is my first thread in the world of electronics ever, and I am so happy that such a place as https://www.electronicspoint.com/ exists on the web.
    Because I don't know the simplest facts about electronics (I am an English Literature graduate) excuse me if I am making too many mistakes.

So here is the problem: Simply put, I had a floor fan like this one:

[​IMG]
    In my room, connected to the same AC outlet as my PC(there is only one in the room), and it was turned on, and when I was leaving the room I forgot to turn it off, and since my PC was doing some downloading I had it also turned on. After a few hours when I came back, I smelled a very bad smell in the room, and I noticed that the fan wasn't working anymore. now my questions are:
    1- What usually happens when an AC fan like that dies? Does the dieing process takes some time, or it happens instantly? could it cause some irregular voltage or current on the 220V AC outlet? could it have been shortcircuited?
    2- How much do you think it is possible that this whole situation could have hurt my PC hardware? like the Hard drives, or the power supply? or even the mother board? Is it even possible? and if something happened, is it even possible for me to determine it at this point?

Thank you guys for helping me previously.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 11, 2014
  2. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    Hi there and welcome to Electronics Point :)

I like your quote. But I don't like your username. You don't sound like a stupid fella to me.