Maker Pro
Maker Pro

What did I do?

Ricky1

May 11, 2012
Well hello! I'm a new guy looking for some help, since I've never done PCB work before.
I'm not sure what type of fault I'm looking for, so I'll just describe the problem, I guess. I was using a mid-80s MCS amplifier in a DIY stereo with the amp and speakers all in one big box. Sort of a boombox on roids.
The amp has three separate but connected boards: power board, equalizer board and a control board with all the buttons and switches on it. I was testing the rig and it was sounding awesome when I accidentally dropped the EQ board on the power board's heatsink, which is aluminum. The fall was only an inch or two, not great enough to damage the board.
There was a ton of snapping and popping once it hit--probably because nothing was grounded--and when powered back on, the audio could be heard through any input no matter which was used, (though it now sounds like a very, very distant radio station with a ton of static) and literally nothing works. I can't change the input, or turn up the volume, nothing--even the LEDs on the boards won't power on.
I checked, and there's no obvious damage, like fire or melting silicon, so I don't even know where to look. I do have a multimeter and a soldering iron, but I've never done repair before and don't know where to start. Any help would be very greatly appreciated!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
You have possibly caused multiple faults.

From the way you describe the output, I would think that the output transistors are dead, but it may also be the power supply or many other parts of the amplifier.

You may be in for a learning experience.

Do you have a multimeter, and do you know how to use it?

Is there any mains wiring inside this thing and are you confident you can keep well away from it (remember that maybe half of the power supply may be live)?

How much time, persistence, and patience do you have?

edit: Oh, and welcome to Electronics Point.

Ricky1