Connect with us

What component is this?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Viktor, May 8, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Viktor

Viktor

May 8, 2017
    I'm new to electronics and while trying to repair a module, I gave it a visual inspection and could see an inductor that was broken. (I suppose it's an inductor since it's L marked.)

However, I can't seem to find a component that looks like it.. Does anybody know what type of component this is?

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Attached Files:

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    Welcome to EP.
    L is indicative for an inductor or a ferrite. However, from the photo it is impossible to tell which one and/or a value.
    Your chance lies in the neighbouring component which seems to be o.k. You could de-solder it and measure the inductance, then try to find a suitable replacement.

As this component seems to have died from excess thermal energy (aka burnt), there is a risk that somewhere else another component is defect, causing too much current through this part. You should (try to) locate that other part by following the traces from the burnt part into the pcb.

3. Cannonball

Cannonball

May 6, 2017
    Goos advise. You may want to get a schematic on this circuit.

4. Cannonball

Cannonball

May 6, 2017
    I am sorry about my spelling. I mean that is good advise

5. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    you mean, advice ;)

6. Cannonball

Cannonball

May 6, 2017
    yep

7. Viktor

Viktor

May 8, 2017
    It's damn near impossible to get a schematic for the products that I'm repairing. They are not common products and it's prefered to not buy a new one, as the price for an used item ranges from about $1000-6000

8. Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
    Without a schematic or a bill of materials measuring the (hopefully) good part is mho your only choice.

9. Viktor

Viktor

May 8, 2017