Connect with us

What am I not getting about LED's

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by zionosis, Dec 25, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. zionosis

zionosis

Oct 23, 2013
    I am a noob BTW.
    Well as far as I used to know when you have a series of LED's the current stays the same throughout and the voltage drops after each LED.

But something very strange is going on with my LED's. I have a 9V battery that according to my multimeter can put out about 85mA.

Well my little LED's are 20mA ones I am pretty sure. Not sure about forward voltage but 3V seems to run them fine. Maybe they are 3.5 since that seems like a common standard.

Well I have a resistor that reduces the mA to only 30 or so. Now that is more than enough for my LED's. And there is more than enough Volts for at least 2 to work properly. But that isn't what happens. I connect one LED and it runs fine. I then connect both together and they both go dim. WTF. The current drops after each LED. How is this. Not meant to happen.

The only way I can get them both to go brighter is to use a different resistor that makes the current back up at nearly 70 instead of 30.

But how does this make sense. If one LED runs bright at 30mA then why shouldn't 2 run bright in a series since it isn't like current drops like voltage does. But that seems to be what is going on here.

It's annoying me very badly. This isn't even meant to happen yet it is. It's so stupid like my LED's are magically high ohm resistors.

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
  3. zionosis

zionosis

Oct 23, 2013
    I already knew all that in the link since I have read it all before on various other sites.