Connect with us

weird pots resistance

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Awesheim, Feb 15, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Awesheim

Awesheim

Feb 15, 2015
    Hi, I'm new to both this forum and electronics.

I wanted to learn electronics, so I bought my self a diy-kit and thought that I would try to learn a bit as I tried to put it together.

But there's one problem I can't solve no matter how much I read our Google it.

I used a wrong solder at first. I had bought a 99,3% tin solder and soldered everything with it. When I noticed this I bought a new roll with 60/40, and will solder my components again with that.

I had had some problem with my 1k potentiometers. So I soldered one of them to some loose wires (nothing else). And measured the resistance at both ends (not the wiper) with a multimeter.

If I understand pots correctly, this should result in a 1k reading on a 1k multimeter.
    But what I got was a reading of 40.000 ohm. I then thought that it had residue from the old solder, and tried to remove the wires and clean it as good as I could with solder wick.
    This time when I measured it read 15.000. Thinking that I was on the right track I cleaned it again, I even went in with a little sandpaper.
    But when I soldered and measured this time it read 180.000 ohm!

Just to try I heated up the solder joints with the multimeter still attached. And now I could see the resistance fall all the way down to 1k when the joint was hot, and then rise back up to crazy high again as it cooled.

Is this just residue from the old solder or is this something else?

I have already ordered a new set of potentiometers, but I would like to know what I did wrong before I solder the new ones. :)

Sorry for the long post, and thanks for any help or tips. :)

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    The only thing I can think of is that you used way too much heat and destroyed the pot.