Connect with us

WD40 ok as switch cleaner

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by Cyclops, Jul 2, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Cyclops

Cyclops

Jul 2, 2012
    Hi guys, newbie here with a query. I posted this on facebook and got sent here so here goes.
    I recently got an electric guitar and amp and the volume pot is dodgy. I have no switch cleaner but I do have a can of WD40 in the shed and can make a nozzle for it, but is it safe to use?

Cheers

Larry

2. Lee Chyi Huei

Lee Chyi Huei

Jul 3, 2012
    yes , it would be better to put some alcohol after spray.

3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    From an old post:

I would not use WD40.

4. Cyclops

Cyclops

Jul 2, 2012
    Cheers for that, not even ok on a volume pot on my amp?

5. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
    No, not good... It 'might' help short term but it will have negative effects down the line, and/or could have very bad immediate effects if Mr. Sparky ignites it when you turn the dial...

Go get some contact cleaner, Radio Shack sells it as do many automotive and hardware stores... If you are in a real bind and need it done ASAP get a can of that computer air, turn it upside down so it lets the liquid squirts out and give it a spray, and then let it warm back up ;)

6. Cyclops

Cyclops

Jul 2, 2012
    Thanks guys, gonna look next time Im in the town (no Radio Shacks here)

7. shrtrnd

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
    They make two types of spray contact cleaner.
    One that just cleans, and one with a lube in it (read the cans).
    I use the clean-only on pots, and the stuff with the lube in it for switch contacts.
    Just letting you know to read the cans to get whichever type of cleaner you prefer.

8. Cyclops

Cyclops

Jul 2, 2012
    Hmmm, didn't know there were two kinds! We just used switch cleaner as we called it. Long time ago!

9. shrtrnd

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
    They call the type you want 'residue free'.