Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Water, color and light show, controlled by iPad

dmpeaceman

Feb 14, 2011
Hi Everyone,
I'm a software engineer (11 yrs in the field), that has recently begun electronics engineering. I've decided I'd like to create a water and light show in my back yard that I can sync to music....been done before I know. But my application might be a bit unique.

I want to be able to dynamically control everything via an iPad or iPhone. So no pre-programmed effects on microcontrollers. So software aside (as I know that area), I want to get opinions on most reliable wireless technology for a 100' radius from the source signal. Radio signals vs bluetooth vs wifi?

Basically I want to be able to send a signal from my iPad, and have that sent out to several different microcontrollers in my back yard at the same time to syncronize to playing music. Some microcontrollers will fade\change LED colors, some microcontrollers will control pump pressure for water, etc....

If you were to undertake this job, what would be your overall architectural approach? Please note, that I will be designing my backyard from scratch, and be able to have an electrician pre-wire all necessary outlets if needed. So don't limit your responses to physical concerns. I'm more interested in electronics component and communication feasibility.

Here is what I'm thinking - please tell me if it's reasonable from an electronics components standpoint.

1) Build a lightweight central controller, that can accept a very large amount of rapid bluetooth commands, and send out radio signals to each individual micro-controller at a different frequency. (the receivers will be blocked by various architectural interferences - so this would need to be a reliable & strong radio signal to ensure it can update very rapidly to ensure synchronization with the music)