Connect with us

Want to test a Hall Effect Sensor

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by slim_jim_56, Mar 19, 2010.

1. slim_jim_56

slim_jim_56

Feb 10, 2010
    I have a "523 A" Hall effect sensor and would like to test it. I may have destroyed the one I have and only have a few left. I am a beginner in electronics and don't understand all the info on the data sheets. Does anyone have a simple circuit for testing a Hall sensor that I can make?
    Thanks
    Jim

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Is this the datasheet you don't understand?

If not, then please post a link to it. My wife is using the crystal ball at the moment.

3. slim_jim_56

slim_jim_56

Feb 10, 2010
    If not, then please post a link to it. My wife is using the crystal ball at the momen

Yeah, I guess you get a lot of people asking questions without giving you a hint at what they are talking about. Sorry to be one of them.

Data-sheet at;
    http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/MicronasIntermetall/mXuxyww.pdf

I have a 523 Hall Sensor. I do not understand how to test it to find out if I burned it out or not.
    I can't seem to get it to respond to a S pole of a magnet. I have the Input (#1 I think) hooked up to + on a 9V battery and the middle pin (#2) hooked up to - on the same battery. Then I try to get a voltage reading from pin #3 and pin # 2 and don't get a reading either with the S pole, N pole or no magnet at all.
    http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/MicronasIntermetall/mXuxyww.pdf
    I have made a testing board for a 555 timer and one for a 14017 decade counter so I was wondering if any one knew of a simple circuit for testing this Hall effect sensor.

4. 55pilot

55pilot

Feb 23, 2010
    The output is open drain. You need an external pull-up resistor on the output to see the state of the output.

---55p

5. slim_jim_56

slim_jim_56

Feb 10, 2010