Connect with us

Volume control from amp?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by QMAO, Mar 10, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. QMAO

QMAO

Mar 10, 2014
    This is my first time posting on this site, so excuse me if it is in the wrong section . But I do need help with a small project I have questions about.

I have a mp3 player connected to this amplifire www.sonicelectronix.com/item_71775_NVX-MVPA4.html with 3.5 stereo and rca jacks. I am using it in a 4 channel configuration.
    Because the volume control is not easy to access. I would like to put volume controls in the dash board of vehcle, which is a Polaris RZR utv.

What I want to do is wire in potentiometers ? to control the volume to the speakers.
    My questions are 1- Do I wire them to the output side of the amp, between the amp and the speakers? or wire them on between the mp3 player and the amp input?

Question 2 is which type and specification do I need to use for the potentiometers?
    I would also be able to control the volume of 2 channels seperste,..front and rear.

I appreciate the help and thank you.

Last edited: Mar 10, 2014
  2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    You wire them between the MP3 player and the amplifier.

You would use a log pot (a dual gang one if you want both channels controlled at once).

Since the output of the MP3 player is probably designed to drive a relatively low impedance load, it may be advantageous to use a relatively low value pot (5k to 10k if you can get one).

3. QMAO

QMAO

Mar 10, 2014
    thanks for the help so far, sorry to be a PIA.

So I have a couple of these, www.parts-express.com/5k-audio-taper-stereo-potentiometer-1-4-shaft--023-644

What would be the proper way to them in between the mp3 and rca amp inputs?
    I can use each one for a left and right channel, but how for the rear front seperation?