Connect with us

Voltage Regulator not regulating?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Shadow351, Sep 8, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Shadow351

Shadow351

Sep 8, 2011
    Hello all, I'm new to building electronic circuits and I'm having an issue with my most recent project.

I'm am trying to build a portable radio to run off my 18 Volt drill batteries. I came up with a simple circuit with a capacitor and 7812 voltage regulator with 2 heat syncs. I hooked it up as shown in the attached image and had the stereo playing. I wanted to check the actual output voltage of my regulator circuit, so I pulled out my multimeter and found the voltage regulator was putting out 17.4 Volts with the stereo on! I unhooked the battery quickly as I didn't want to risk damaging the stereo and thought I'd seek help before I do anything more.

Am I doing something wrong or is the voltage regulator malfunctioning? Is there a better way to run a car stereo on an 18 V drill battery? thanks in advance

btw the stereo I'm using is a Pioneer CD-MP3 unit which has an allowable voltage range of 10.8 V to 15.4 V

Attached Files:

• Reg.png
      Reg.png
      File size:
      6.7 KB
      Views:
  2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    It sounds like you may have swapped some pins around on the regulator.

Check very carefully that the input pin goes toward the 18V batteries and the output pin is toward the device you're powering.

It is also typical to have a capacitor across the output of the regulator (100 to 1000uF)

3. davelectronic

davelectronic

Dec 13, 2010
    7812 regulator