Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Voltage Reference

CaptainCanuck

Aug 5, 2017
Hi everybody, newbie here. I've been doing some reading trying to get a better understanding of AC power, 3 phase, neutral vs hot vs ground, etc., etc. My question is simple. When the term "referenced to" is used, as in (something/some entity) is "referenced to ground", does that mean that it is physically connected to an object or conductor that is at the reference potential, in this case an object or conductor at ground potential? In other words, could you substitute "referenced to" with "connected to"?

- Cap'n C

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
No.

If you're talking about a car battery you might say that the positive terminal is at 12V referenced to the negative terminal.

You definitely don't want to connect them together.

Voltage readings are always relative to some reference point. The wording you're asking about is just telling you what the village is referenced to.

It's a bit like saying that the top of my head is at 1.87 meters referenced to the bottom of my feet.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
My question is simple. When the term "referenced to" is used, as in (something/some entity) is "referenced to ground", does that mean that it is physically connected to an object or conductor that is at the reference potential, in this case an object or conductor at ground potential?

not quite

In other words, could you substitute "referenced to" with "connected to"?

NO, definitely not

It means where you are measuring the voltages between ... where the 2 probes of the voltmeter are connected to
lets take your 3 phase example

you could be measuring the voltage between any 2 phases or between one phase and ground or neutral

in a DC circuit, you would be normally placing your negative meter lead on the 0V/negative rail in the case of a single rail power supply
and you would be doing measurements throughout the circuit referencing to that 0V rail

take this part of a circuit .....

cct.JPG