Connect with us

Voltage help?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Major Tom, Feb 7, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Major Tom

Major Tom

Feb 7, 2013
    Hey guys, I'm a beginner with electronics, but I'm wiring up a nightvision rig with a b/w camera and a retrofitted viewfinder off an old camcorder. Trouble is, these components are power hungry, enough to exhaust a single 9v in <5 minutes. Awhile back I tried wiring two 9v to the setup, and it fried my camera. So new camera, both components are rated for 12v with the viewfinder running at ~<1/3 amp (does that sound right?) and the camera @ 1.56W.
    How would i go about powering these with only 9v? And if that is not at all efficient or reasonable, what should I power it with?
    Sorry if I sound like an idiot, I'm pretty new to this stuff.
    Any help is appreciated!

2. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    hi there
    welcome to the forums :)

Are you referring to the small rectangular 9V PP3 battery ?

if so, Im not suprised, those batteries have a very low current supply capacity
    You would probably need a 12V 7.2A/H Gel Cel, sealed lead acid etc type
    to get the sort of supply capabilities you require

Dave

Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
  3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    I'm almost amazed you got 5 minutes out of a 9V battery.

Get a 7AH 12V lead acid battery and you can probably run the camera all day.

Two 9V batteries (you place them in parallel NOT series) would let you run the camera for ten minutes.

4. Major Tom

Major Tom

Feb 7, 2013
    Thanks! Yeah, I like the rectangular 9vs because they are common, and I have a bunch of connectors for them that are hooked into the circuit. So if possible I would like to use these, but it sounds like the gel cells are a good way to go. These wouldnt fry the setup would they?