Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Voltage consumption of a IC

harisudharsan

Oct 15, 2012
Hi All,

I am very very new to electronics & have no educational background on electronics. Just wanted to make life simple eazier with electronics. !!

Just want to install a simple indicator for garage door in my grand parents house to keep check on intruders. (I know this is absolutely a worst method of intruder detection. But somewhat better than nothing)..

So i used a simple LED circuit. I had a lengthy spare wire. So connected LED, a 9 V battery and stuck one lead on to the wall and another to the door. So when the door is closed, the light will be on. When the door is opened, the contact breaks and light goes off.
Now the problem is, since the light keeps glowing for ever, the battery comes only for around 20-25 days. So thinking of introducing some IC (like IC 555) to the circuit so that the circuit gets closed only once for every 5 seconds.

My questions is, Would this idea will really increase the battery life (i.e roughly little less than 5 times as before) or the IC would consume more power than the LED would consume ???

I found numerious better circuits over the internet. But just want to keep this as simple as possible as i need to teach this to a little guy for the maintenance. So need some "really simple" suggestions. :p So I am trying my best not to overload that little guy.

Regards,
S.Sudharsan

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
To stick with a very simple circuit:

1) Add a series resistor between battery and LED to reduce current consumption (see sticky post on LEDs in this forum).