Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Voltage comparator debouncing

pineapple

Oct 24, 2011
Hello! I'm working on a simple comparator circuit that will be used to measure resistivity. However, I'm having a lot of trouble with double counting and false readings. It seems like I need to do some sort of debouncing, but I'm pretty new to this and not exactly sure what the best way of handling it would be. My circuit is below:

circuit.jpg

The circuit is designed to test for regions of low resistivity across a surface that is normally non-conductive. R4 is actually a set of probes that run across the surface. The value (0.27) will vary, I've just set it at this to represent equilibrium between the inputs. My problem is that minor "spikes" in the surface are picked up by the comparator, which in turn results in false readings on my counter circuit. I've got the resistors tuned down about as far as I can go. (Any less and my threshold would be below the resistance in my probes!).

So my question now is - is there any way to tune out the "spikes"? I tried adding a 10uF capacitor between my output and ground, but that resulted in a slow response time. Also not sure what adding the cap does to my digital output (i'll be interfacing this with another device eventually). Any help would be very appreciated!

pineapple

Oct 24, 2011
My mistake, I drew R5 and C1 wrong. They should both be connected to the + input of the comparator. R5 is supposed to be for hysteresis. R6 is my pull-up resistor. See correct circuit below:

circuit2.jpg

I'll have to try Alchymist's suggestion about adding a capacitor across R4. THanks again!

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
your corrected circuit didnt post ... ie its not there to view

nor is the old cct either .... try again :)

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010