Connect with us

Video camera hack

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Jantheman, Sep 29, 2013.

1. Jantheman

Jantheman

Sep 29, 2013
    Hi all
    I am a newbie trying to circumvent the on/off button on the camera by the help of Electronics.
    I have used hours on the net, and found that an astabil multivibrator might do the trick.
    But i only need one cycle on the AMV.
    Does anybody know of an easy ( remember newbie ) way to an AMV to do only one cycle ?
    I hope i have explained my problem in a clear way,if not please ask and i will try to elaborate

Jan

2. KennyMcCormick

KennyMcCormick

Sep 8, 2013
    Do you mean so you can trigger it remotely? Do you mean the record button or switch that powers on and changes from video to still mode? surely you need no electronics you can just put a jack like a headphone jack in prrallell with the switch and get another switch to turn the camera on that you connect to wires and put a jack plug on the end so you can plug it in your socket? or are you trying to activate camera with no wires like by radio control?

3. Jantheman

Jantheman

Sep 29, 2013
    Hi KennyMcCormick
    Thanks for your answer
    What i have is : A button (on the camera) that i want to activate via an electronic impulse.
    This button needs to be activated twice, first once, then after about 3 sec. again.
    Over this button runs a current of 3.1 v. And i am pretty sure that i cannot introduce any current directly to this without getting some kind of smoke somewhere ?
    this is why (after hours on the net) i found that an relay or a reed switch would could do it ?
    Now an relay/reed switch combined with am astabil multivibrator ( if i could get it to only go one cycle would be just the thing) I have had a look at some other solutions but this one seems like an easy one for my needs and remember i am a total newbie.