Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Very first project - beginner stumped

jayc73

Jan 7, 2014
Hi All,
This is my very first project and I'm not sure if I'm heading in the right direction or not ...

What I'm trying to do is increase DC voltage.

What I'm working with;
I have a DC power supply generating aprox.15kv @ 0.5A
a power input point or destination point
an obstacle - 5k ohm resistor

In a nut shell, I have 15kv - 15kv , departure and destination if you will.
I'm aiming for 15kv - 30kv or there abouts

The problem I think I'm faced with is there is a 5k ohm resistor I can not physically work around / bypass and must remain in place as it is a noise suppressor .

In other words, all voltage supplied must pass through a 5k ohm resistor to reach the "destination point".

I'm pretty sure using a 30kv capacitor will bump the voltage up but what options do I have with the resistor ?

Thanks in advance,
Jay

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
15kV at 500mA?!?!?!? 7500 Watts!!!!

I hope it's running from 3 phase power.

edit: and is that a 1250W resistor?

Can you confirm all of these figures and explain what you're actually trying to do.

jcurrie

Feb 22, 2011
wow 15,000V to 30,000V if thats is what you have be carefull my friend even at .5amps thats a dangerously high voltage.
jc

Last edited:

jayc73

Jan 7, 2014
Sorry guys, error on my behalf

Should be 15kv @ 0.05A ( 50 Miliamps).

What I'm trying to achieve is boosting the voltage a spark plug fires with . Its for a 30cc 2 stroke with CDI ignition and I'm looking to convert to methanol.
Methanol needs a bigger charge to ignite so, I need a bigger spark to ignite it.

There are other high performance CDI ignition coils out there but most don't physically fit this particular application .
A higher output ignition coil doesn't really solve the problem either as the plugs are internally fitted with a 5kΩ resistor for rfi suppression which I assume, would kill +/- 75% of the higher output ignition coil voltage.