Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Vehicle Mirror Control

knowoneishome

Sep 30, 2010
My automatic mirror control stopped working but the motors in the mirror still work and can be controlled by jumping pins. I have tried making switches to control the mirrors but am having trouble. The fuse will blow if the 12V touches the ground...obviously. I was wondering if there is a simpler way to do this other than what I've tried. The following diagram doesn't work or will only work for one mirror if I disregard the 3-prong switch. I am an electronics noob so any help would be appreciated...thanks.
mirrorcontrol.jpg

trial&error.jpg

Militoy

Aug 24, 2010
What kind of a vehicle is the mirror on? Most newer mirror controls work through the CANbus - as opposed to via direct wire connections.

knowoneishome

Sep 30, 2010
it's on a 1996 chrysler sebring. The module that was on it (which is broke) looks very simple. its just a couple of traces of metal that when pressed make contact with each other which opens the connection. I can control the mirrors by jumping the ground/12v to their corresponding points so I know there is not supposed to be an external controller/computer otherwise it would not be designed this way. I cannot figure out the traces from the older module because it's all rusted out and pieces of metal broke off disconnecting them.

Militoy

Aug 24, 2010