Connect with us

UV light sensor op amp explanation

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by aris, Jan 21, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. aris

aris

Jan 21, 2014
    Hello,

My programming background is pretty good but I am new to electronics. I decided to build a micro-processor based UV light integrator to measure the amount of UV light cast at a point over a period of time. This is for screen printing.

I have narrowed the sensor choice down to 2 and the datasheets on both have a circuit example. These devices generate a very low voltage in the order of 100mV or so. I understand that I will have to scale their voltage to the 0-5V range so I can feed it to the microprocessor analog input for ADC.

opamps.png

Would someone be kind enough to to help me understand the two different circuits? I know that the left one is a non-inverting arrangement and the right one is an inverting arrangement.

For example:
    - Is there a class to better describe each circuit?
    - I do not understand the use of the capacitor on both.
    - why is the photodiode connected this way on each circuit?

Thanks in advance for any replies!

2. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    Hi there and welcome to Electronics Point :)

I should start by warning you that I have no experience with UV photodetectors.

I've just done some quick research on photodiodes in general.

Photodiodes generate a current, called photocurrent, in response to incident light. They can be used in two modes: photovoltaic, and photoconductive.

Both of those circuits operate the diode in photovoltaic mode. In this mode, the diode generates the photocurrent itself, rather than allowing current to flow from a voltage source. This gives good accuracy and linearity, and eliminates the dark current because there is no (or very little) voltage across the photodiode.