Connect with us

USB to serial question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by peter st, Jan 11, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. peter st

peter st

Jan 11, 2014
  2. peter st

peter st

Jan 11, 2014
    it is to send readings from a chronograph to a computer via usb so the power source is the 5v from usb the chrono itself uses 3 of the batteries you would use in a laser pointer

3. gorgon

gorgon

Jun 6, 2011
    The USB to Serial TTL should not need an extra inverter to work at TTL Level. To answer what to do with pin 3, you need to read the manual for the device you need to communicate with. As far as I understand you can not connect this USB Device to a standard RS232 port.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 22, 2019
  4. peter st

peter st

Jan 11, 2014
    i linked to it in my post sorry im new to all this

5. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Peter st, what you have done is called "hijacking a thread". In this case I have moved all the posts to a new thread and removed 7 of them which were confused by the change in topic of the thread.

It would be wise to start a new thread for new topics in the future. I'll accept that it was an error, but now you've seen what happens, I'm sure you'll be more careful in the future.

6. peter st

peter st

Jan 11, 2014
    ok i shall try and explain as best as i can please note i do not have a clue so sorry if i seem daft
    i own a combro chronograph i found this wiring diagram for it
    http://www.combro.co.uk/cb625/m625-3.gif
    now what i would like to do is connect the chronograph to my computer with this cable
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00F2F5HVK/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    i belive it is a j9 connector i put onto the chronograph