Maker Pro
Maker Pro

UPS with 24V External Batteries

FrankG

Jul 8, 2011
I'm sorry if this is a simplistic question. I don't have a lot of knowledge when it comes to these things. I'm just trying to set up a reliable, long-running UPS without spending a fortune.

I have a UPS (Tripp Lite Omni VS1500XL) that has a port to plug in an optional 14Ah external battery pack for extended run time. I have that battery pack (Tripp Lite BP24V14), which is 24V. I also added two 12V 100Ah batteries, which are connected in series. I've been running it like this for a few months, and it seems to work great. I tested it running my computer and network equipment, and it was still over 90% capacity after 6 hours. I assume the UPS is charging the external batteries, but I also have a 12V charger that I switch between the 12V batteries every few days. I drew up a diagram of how everything is hooked up. Here are my questions:

1. Is it okay to hook everything up like this, or should there be a diode somewhere to prevent power from flowing the wrong way?

2. Is it okay to charge the 12V batteries while they are still connected in series and to the UPS?

3. Is there any way to get the 12V charger to charge both 12V batteries at the same time while still keeping them connected in series and to the UPS?

Thanks!

upsjy.jpg

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
I would disconnect the two additional batteries, connect them in parallel and charge them to 14V for a day or two. Then reconnect to your UPS and put your charger in a drawer. The UPS charges the internal 24V battery and should do the job for an external one.
Charging one battery unbalances the system
If your charger is not voltage controlled, then keep a constant eye on the voltage.

FrankG

Jul 8, 2011