Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Understanding current and voltage flow

Ali8bongo

Jun 2, 2012
Hi
I wasn't show which section to put this post in so sorry if it's the wrong section.
I am new to electronics and before I started any electronica kits I decided its best for me to learn the basics of electronics, so I decided to read starting electronics third edition by Keith brindley. After reading this I know understand how each component works on its own for example capacitors, resistors, transistors and I also understand thing like ohms law but the one thing I don't understand is figuring out which way around a curcuit the voltage and current flow. I have looked at lots of basic circuit diagrams and on none of them I can understand how the current and voltage flow through the circuit, I'm probably just looking at this all wrong but are there any online resources that would explain this to me.
Thanks in advance for any help.

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
It might be helpful to think of electricity as like water flowing through a garden hose. So in a sense voltage which is electromotive force is pressure like the pressure in a water line. In a hose the greatest pressure is at the faucet, where the water is going in and the hose has a back pressure comparable to resistance in a wire. The pressure is least where the water is flowing out because there is no back pressure. Now if you connect two hoses together you have more back pressure therefore more pressure at the faucet. Pressure does not flow. It can be measured in pounds per square inch just as voltage does not flow. The back pressure is because the hose adds resistance to the flow of water and the greater the flow the greater the back pressure. This is comparable to the resistance in a wire.
Now for ohms law I strongly suggest you ignore it until you fully comprehend the concept of electric current and voltage. This is where most people become confused. Look only at the concepts and ohms law will become obvious.