Connect with us

Uln2003 Stepper motor controller help

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by Enns, Sep 8, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Enns

Enns

Sep 8, 2013
    Hello, my name is josh and im a 14 y/o electrical hobbyist. My current project is a XY plotter with two dvd rom trays. I am on a very low budget,(5 dollars) and i need a controller and schematic for it. i have looked into a uln2003 and i am going to buy some. My question is how do i hook up two stepper motors to two uln2003's and hopefully use a db25. Here is a picture of the machine. Thank you for your help.

Attached Files:

2. Fish4Fun

Fish4Fun So long, and Thanks for all the Fish!

Aug 27, 2013
    Hey Josh Welcome to the forum!

First, I am glad to see someone your age interested in electronics and stages!

This is a typical 28BYJ-48//ULN2003 Stepper/Driver: http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-5V-Stepp...941?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3385233045 . It might be easier for you to simply order 2 steppers//dirvers from e-bay (the ones linked are slightly over your $5 budget @ $7.90 for 2 including shipping, but if you don't mind waiting you can likely get them from China for a bit less.)

CNC is a hobby of mine, and I have tinkered with all sorts of steppers, but I have never played with any of the old floppy steppers, so I don't know if they are typically unipolar or bipolar. I have seen some pretty amazing stages built using salvaged steppers, but a frequent problem with salvaged steppers is figuring out how to drive them properly.

If you want to investigate what others have done with salvaged PC Steppers here are a few links:

http://www.epanorama.net/circuits/diskstepper.html

http://bildr.org/2012/11/big-easy-driver-arduino/

http://forums.parallax.com/showthre...Stepper-Motor-with-high-speed-spin-up-circuit

Fish

3. Enns

Enns

Sep 8, 2013
    That i could probably go over my budget for but i have one question, i dont have an aurduino and could i hook it up to a db25?