Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Two-way radio convert to short-range radio?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Solidus

Jun 19, 2011
Okay, for introduction on the topic, I'm a DJ and music producer, and will be starting college this fall. This is the era of not much exposure to the unheard of, so I need a way to get an exposure base.

If it needs to be said to continue, everything I detail here will be crosschecked for legality, as I don't intend to operate on any unauthorized bands.

What I was wondering about doing is converting a two-way radio (a walkie-talkie) into a short-range, "pirate" (loosely) radio. Obviously, one unit would be the send signal, and anyone wishing to receive would have to purchase their own unit and dial in to the correct frequency (which for the most part are standardized as channel numbers).

Question is, how would I rig the two-way radio to accept a headphone (3.5mm) or a 1/4" TRS plug for connection to a DJ mixer, etc.? Also, how would I modify the circuitry to allow for a constant power source rather than batteries?

Also, would it be possible to (simply) modify the unit to eek out a bit more range? It wouldn't need to be anything more than 3-4 miles (5-7km).

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
working with 2 ways i can tell you now they have headsets already. the added bonus is you can modify these really easily

as for power they have that too. the only issue is that if you leave the device turned on while connected to mains they get whats called battery memory effect. if you intend to use them continually connected to power this shouldn't be an issue.

as for range it is defined by the handset used.

there are legalities to the range you can use and output power. also there is a HUGE legality if the frequency is used for mergency purposes(most of them will be)
simply put is this possible answer yes
totally correct answer though is yes... but expect a nice fine if you try it

davenn

Sep 5, 2009