Maker Pro
Maker Pro

TV Power Supply help

chiefcw

Jun 7, 2018
Hello all,

I'm a newbie when it come to repairing electronics but I'm giving it a shot. I need a little help in fixing a power supply for a Philips LED TV 40PFL4908/F7. This is my son's tv and I thought I would give fixing it a shot. The original problem was no power, no standby light. I pulled the power supply board and found a blown fuse. Investigated further and found two bad diodes and some suspect looking caps. I replaced the caps and diodes and it blew the fuse again. I checked the mofset and it was shorted so I replaced it with the original part number. It doesn't blow any fuses now but I have no power on the cold side. I really don't know where or what to check so that's why I'm here. I have checked the voltages across the rectifier diodes and they are at 60 volts, the voltage across the big caps are 160. I've also taken off the optocoupler and applied voltage across the anode and cathode and measured a resistance drop across the other pins when the voltage was applied, it appears to work correctly. No other bad diodes can be found.

View attachment 41388

View attachment 41389

Could someone point me in the right direction?

Last edited by a moderator:

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
Sir chiefcw . . . .
I no can see your attachments . . .even with my 20/15 vision !

Looks like the party (ies) . .twice removed . . that would validate and host your attachment, have not done so.

The last active attachments that I see just PRIOR to yours, was being # 41386 . . within . . https://www.electronicspoint.com/attachments/555-monostable-png.41386/

Try using an independent host for your attachment and then go to your submission page and seek out the
IMAGE / DIALOG Box just to the right of the SMILEY logo and enter your hosted URL addee within it.
That way, at least, we can then see what supplemental info you were trying to pass to us .
I even had to do this on MY last 475 scope photo / post yesterday.