Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Trying to fix dead dishwasher. AEG F35020VI

maturecheese

Sep 7, 2018
Hello all,

first time poster here. I thought I would try to fix my dishwasher as a project - seems such a shame to throw it away and I might just learn a thing or two with a practical challenge. I realise though that I can't go any further without some assistance. Let me start by saying I am not great with electronics but not a total beginner, I do some arduino projects in my spare time, so I have learnt a little and have some basic equipment to help me!

The machine wont turn on, so I got out the pcb and noticed a blown power resistor, 100R 3W 5%. I replaced it with the exact spec and plugged in and boom, the same resistor blew in dramatic fashion.

I cant see any other obvious damage, except for the fact that two contacts on the bottom of the board of the relay module (situated next to the resistor) have gotten real hot. The burnt contacts are the COM and the NO. I used my multimeter to check that there is no continuity between COM and NO at 0V. There is between COM and NC. Then I put a 9V battery across the coil of the relay it switches fine and there is continuity between COM/NO, not COM/NC, so the relay appears ok?

There were two capacitors on the board 4.7uF 400V in those empty circles on the board. I removed them so I could test them (I have a budget component tester from ebay). I thought maybe they could have shorted. Unfortunately one of them got damaged when I took it out but the other tested ok. I have a replacement on order. Looking at what happened to the resistor I would expect some visual sign if either has shorted but the one I damaged looked fine?

Also, the green resistor next to the blown resistor measures 2.1 ohms on my multimeter which seem weird. Dont the bar colours indicate 100 Ohms? I havent removed it from the circuit but without the capacitor that is removed one end is not connected to anything as far as I can see