Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Trying to convert 12V DC to 120V AC

kyij

Nov 20, 2011
I have a PC atx psu and I am trying to convert a 12V rail to to 120V AC current. I need the psu for other voltages at the same time, that's why I simply can not use the original 120V from the wall...

The converter I just bought at wall-mart, hoping it would work for my use (just a car converter from 12 to 120v). Which I do not see why not..

But every time I try to close the circuit I just get a spark and the psu automatically turns off.

Thanks for any help!

IMAG0084.jpg

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
That inverter sounds like it is overloading your power supply (which then shuts down to protect itself).

kyij

Nov 20, 2011
That inverter sounds like it is overloading your power supply (which then shuts down to protect itself).

Sorry I am new to electronics, will amps overload it? Or watts / both as it draws 140ish watts and the psu should be 200 or 250 watts.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The power supply can probably supply less than 100W on the 12V rails -- check it.

If the power supply says that the 12V rail is under 12A then you *will* overload it.

Even if it can supply more than 12A you *may* overload it (it may require more current at startup than when it is operating). In addition the 140W may refer to the output power, not the input power (losses mean that it requires a bit more power input than it can output).

The voltage rating of the power supply is what the voltage will be. The current rating is the *maximum* it can supply. The load determines the actual current supplied -- up to the maximum. If the load demands more current than the power supply can provide, the power supply is overloaded and bad things will happen. In this case it's simply the power supply shutting down to protect itself.