Connect with us

TRIAC Switching Circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by HowlingGoatBoy, Jul 10, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. HowlingGoatBoy

HowlingGoatBoy

Jul 10, 2014
    Hi All

This is my first post here, so here goes:

I'm very new to electronics and mostly self taught.
    For a project I'm doing for my studies I want to build an irrigation controller, the programming part is fine, that I can do, but my problem lies with the electronic side of things. I've picked this project to learn more about circuit design.

This controller is essentially a microchip switching a solenoid valve on or off.
    I have done the design, which I believe is correct, but I can't seem to calculate the resistor values.
    I've been stuck with this for weeks now, the problem I have seems to be understanding the datasheets which seem just really not noob friendly.

Explanation of Circuit:

A microcontroller switches a seperate 5V signal using a NPN transistor, which in turn switches on an optocoupler, which in turn switches on the TRIAC which turns on/off a 24VAC Solenoid (about 140mA innitial current)

A seperate 5V signal is used to switch the optocouper as the microcontroller cannot supply enough current
    (The schematic is one of the 6 "TRIAC Switches" )

The optocoupler is neccesary to isolate the TRIAC in case of failure, and the transistor and TRIAC both have pull-down resistors

My problem is that I know that the optocoupler requires 15mA, but how do I supply that amount to it?
    with my current understanding the gain is about 100 - 125, which gives me a base current of 0.2mA - 0.16mA

Now do I work with how much volt I need to give the transistor (enough pressure to supply the current) or... what?

I am quite sure my understanding is flawed and I'm missing some basic background
    (I've done resistor loops and such, Nothing hectic)

I've attached the circuit diagram (Hand drawn with scribbles that probably should be ignored)